.223 w/77 gr Sierra HPBT and Varget

Discussion in 'Small Stuff--22s, 20s, and 17s' started by Baer45, Oct 16, 2019.

1. Baer45

Baer45 Gold $$ Contributor

I am loading the above in new W brass in Bolt Action rifle. This is my first time loading 223 Remington. I would usually just shoot blue box Black Hills. Can I still load these long to just off lands? Also, I am confused about the wide disparity in load data. Even Sierras load data from its book does not match Its subscription load data. I am seeing max loads from 23.7, 24 and 25 gr. I am just looking for accuracy to 500 yards...any input? Shooting in DT 223 conversion w/bartlen barrel 24”.

2. Rset

Rset

A pretty standard load used by many including myself is 24.0 gr varget Load at standard mag length and adjust.

LVLAaron likes this.
  3. Baer45

Thanks for the quick response. I guess the one question I have is it ok to load these long close to the lands as I don’t have to worry about fitting a standard AR magazine? I see warnings about not loading to long, etc. and assumed that was just for AR shooters??

4. natdscott

natdscott P100, HM, DR, experienced beginner. Gold $$ Contributor

It’s all about chamber dimensions...ie: freebore length.

But by the by, loading 77s long isn’t THAT conventional because if you’re gonna do all that, you may as well use a big bullet.

mac86951, strut64 and GaryL1959 like this.
  5. dstoenner

dstoenner

I load this combination but using Lapua brass for my bolt 223. I load to 2.340 with 24.0 of Varget. I get better accuracy loading long than mag length

david

Baer45 likes this.
  6. Baer45

Thanks. I use Lapua and Peterson’s as well....leaning more towards Peterson lately...

7. Rset

Rset