17 fireball brass question

Discussion in 'Small Stuff--22s, 20s, and 17s' started by bobcat93, Jun 12, 2015.

1. bobcat93

bobcat93 Silver $$ Contributor

Is it better to form brass for the 17 fireball from lapua 221 fireball brass and end up with a short neck, or to form brass from 223 and trim the neck to proper length?.

2. kmcdonou

kmcdonou

Although I am new to the 17 Fireball as well and would love other opinions on the benefits/drawbacks at using 223 versus 221 Fireball brass to make 17 FB, Catshooter (a member here) said on a different forum when asked the same thing:

I have been told that if you form 17FB brass from 221FB brass the case will be a little short. Is this true?

"Yeah... but not enough to worry about. The 221 [case] is 1.400" and the 17 [FB] is 1.410. The cases get longer when you neck them down, and get shorter when you form the shoulder - so it all works out in the wash."

3. garyw

garyw

+1 on the above

4. bobcat93

Thanks for the comments guy's.
    I didn't think one could go wrong with necking down 221 lapua brass even if it was a little short.. I was going to build an AR-15 in 221 fireball now i ts going to be a 17 fireball. I plan on shooting hornady V-max 25 gr. Bullets.. I believe a 1-9 twist will be best. I also want to stick with an 18" or 20" barrel.. I know a lot of guys say 20-24" but I just can't get my head around that logic. Help me out hear.
    The 221 fireball was made for short barrels now granted the 17 bullet is about 1/2 the weight how can longer barrel help I would think a 24" would just slow it down..and I think about 18" barrel would let that sucker fly ..
    What barrel length do you have on your 17 fireball ? Do you like it , or would you change it.? What bullets do you shoot, and what twist are you working with

5. kmcdonou

kmcdonou