Powder Valley Sinclair Int'l Midsouth Shooters Bruno Shooters' Supply Bullets.com Shooting Supplies Lapua Products at Grafs.com Click to Donate to Site
By Clicking HERE to Shop at Amazon.com You Can Help Support the Forum.

Author Topic: Magnum bolt face  (Read 1594 times)

Offline anseitz

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Basic Member
Magnum bolt face
« on: 07:39 AM, 01/21/06 »
  • Question to you all is what would be recommended to change out from 7mm rem mag to ? seeing that I have a magnum bolt face or can that be changed in order to accomodate a better benchrest caliber?  Maybe a stupid question, but I'm new to the game.

Andy

Offline SF340_Driver

• Site $$ Contributor
    Magnum bolt face
    « Reply #1 on: 11:23 AM, 01/21/06 »
  • I think you will find most of the BR cartridges run with a PPC or 308 boltface.  Your bolt can be modified to fit a smaller cartridge.  Getting a new bolt is another option.

Offline dantec

Magnum bolt face
    « Reply #2 on: 11:55 AM, 01/21/06 »
  • belted case can be very accurate but you always stay in big water capacity, smallest easy to use / accurate is the 6.5 REM mag

or you can use a WSSM case 6.5/25 WSSM or 6.5/25 WSSM is close to a 260 REM

with a SAKO extractor you can extract 308 case on mag bolt face but caution to SAKO extractor modification always choose the smallest in size, the Tubbs 2000 is perfect on REM bolt

6BR
    DAN TEC

Offline M700

• Ace Member
    Magnum bolt face
    « Reply #3 on: 12:18 PM, 01/21/06 »
  • Seems to me it was only a few years ago that a good old belted 7mm Rem mag won a big 1000 yard BR match. I don't remember which one or where. Pennsylvania I think? I'll bet JB1000BR knows! :)

As I recall it was with Berger 168's "soft seated" into the lands. The belted magnums can still perform.