Powder Valley Sinclair Int'l Midsouth Shooters Bruno Shooters' Supply Bullets.com Shooting Supplies Lapua Products at Grafs.com Click to Donate to Site
By Clicking HERE to Shop at Amazon.com You Can Help Support the Forum.

Author Topic: Best powder for .243  (Read 7981 times)

Offline hdfireman

• Trade Count: (+1)
  • Basic Member
Best powder for .243
« on: 08:13 AM, 11/01/12 »
  • I am getting ready to start loading for a .243 and would like to get some info on the best powder to use.  I've read how slower powders will help with barrel life, is this true? What does the board suggest?  Barrel is an 8 twist, lapua brass and want to run 95-107gr.  I will not be shooting any competitions anytime soon as I am just getting into the long range game.  Thanks

Offline civil82

• Site $$ Contributor
    • Trade Count: (+12)
    Best powder for .243
    « Reply #1 on: 10:30 AM, 11/01/12 »
  • I had good luck in a 28" Krieger with H1000 and 107 SMKs. As to barrel life, I can't offer you anything. I've only put a few hundred down the tube in five years.
    You don't mention what dicipline you are planning to compete in. In my opinion, useable barrel life is different for each arena of shooting sports. My mid-range prone guns will probably see more rounds before I declare the barrel as toasted, as compared to other's F-Class or long range benchrest guns.   

Offline FroggyOne2

• Trade Count: (+24)
    • Ace Member
    Best powder for .243
    « Reply #2 on: 01:05 PM, 11/01/12 »
  • Well I don't have any experience personally with the .243, but several of the guys that I shoot with that do use it, use VV N160 powder.

Offline Cort

• Site $$ Contributor
    • Trade Count: (+38)
    • Ace Member
    Best powder for .243
    « Reply #3 on: 01:50 PM, 11/01/12 »
  • Read the link on the home page about the .243.  It is good basic information on the cartridge and its performance.  I won't say it will be right for your rifle/barrel but it is always a good starting point.

Cort