Powder Valley Sinclair Int'l Midsouth Shooters Bruno Shooters' Supply Bullets.com Shooting Supplies Lapua Products at Grafs.com Click to Donate to Site
By Clicking HERE to Shop at Amazon.com You Can Help Support the Forum.

Author Topic: .223 Lake City Brass Primer Problems  (Read 4590 times)

Offline sparetime

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Basic Member
.223 Lake City Brass Primer Problems
« on: 08:14 PM, 02/02/11 »
  • I am relatively new to reloading. 

I am currently trying to reload some .223 Lake City Brass I purchased off Gunbroker.  I understand the military brass has a crimp on the primer.  I thought I could simply use a small primer pocket cleaning tool to clean out the primer pocket, but this doesn't seem to be the correct thing.  I tried cleaning all the primer pockets, but I don't think I'm removing anything. 

I am using a Lee Auto Prime to prime the cases, but I am having difficulty and suspect there is another step I need to take with the brass before priming.  What is it? 

Offline sparetime

• Basic Member
    « Reply #1 on: 08:22 PM, 02/02/11 »
  • I think I'll answer most of my own question, I need a primer pocket swagging tool. 

Any recommendations on which one to get.  I have about 750 brass to do, and expect to use it again in the future. 

Offline whiskey08

• Trade Count: (+1)
    « Reply #2 on: 08:27 PM, 02/02/11 »
  • you are correct, at the very top of the primer pocket is a thin ring (crimp) that needs to be removed with a reamer. there are some decrimpers that punch it out or  the hand held reamer which i always used.

http://www.midwayusa.com/browse/BrowseProducts.aspx?pageNum=1&tabId=1&categoryId=8937&categoryString=9315***731***695***

Offline DoubleUp

• Basic Member
    « Reply #3 on: 08:44 PM, 02/02/11 »

• Offline fivering

• Trade Count: (+4)
    « Reply #4 on: 08:46 PM, 02/02/11 »