Powder Valley Sinclair Int'l Midsouth Shooters Bruno Shooters' Supply Bullets.com Shooting Supplies Lapua Products at Grafs.com Click to Donate to Site
By Clicking HERE to Shop at Amazon.com You Can Help Support the Forum.

Author Topic: 80 grain Amax  (Read 2834 times)

Offline DelRan

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Basic Member
80 grain Amax
« on: 02:54 AM, 11/06/06 »
  • Hi guys,

I am new to shooting 224's. I would like to build a long range 224 for f-class up to 600m. I will be using a 30' 3 groove Lilja tube and would like to drive the 80gr Amax to about 3550 fps. Any advise will be appreciated.

Delville

Offline Preacher

• Site $$ Contributor
    • Trade Count: (+104)
    • Ace Member
    80 grain Amax
    « Reply #1 on: 10:15 AM, 11/06/06 »
  • A 22/6mm Ackley will put you where you want to be with no problems other than barrel life....
    A 22/250 Ackley will get you close and a little better barrel life.......
    Age is a high price to pay for maturity.

Offline JER

80 grain Amax
    « Reply #2 on: 10:42 AM, 11/06/06 »
  • Barrel life being what?  1000 rounds?

Ya can't buy points.

Offline mysticplayer

• Site $$ Contributor
    80 grain Amax
    « Reply #3 on: 10:43 AM, 12/01/06 »
  • If your goal is to shoot F open, there are better choices with better barrel life.  You will always have to watch the wind.

Remember that having a rig capable of shooting a bullet that fast doesn't mean the bullet is going to like it.  I read an article on guys building super fast LR varminters and the 75gr Amax didn't like going much over 3300fps.

I can't see the 80gr AMax doing any better especially when the twist is increased.  If it will only tolerate 3200fps, ballistics at 600m can be improved using a 6mm or 6.5mm.

If you are set on the 22cal, consider shooting F T/R with the 223.  yes, the wind drift is substantially higher then options in F Open but everyone has the same issues.

This will likely be my next project rifle.

Jerry

Offline reedmosser

• Basic Member